Masterclasses at the Wörthersee

Piano, violin & cello in Pörtschach


Members of the “Jess Trio” Vienna

Piano: Univ. Prof. Dr. Johannes Kropfitsch, Music and Art Private University Vienna

Violin: Univ. Prof. Elisabeth Kropfitsch, University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna

Cello: Univ. Prof. Stefan Kropfitsch, University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna

Lied at the Falkensteiner Schlosshotel in Velden


Prof. Markus Hadulla, University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna

Prof. Benno Schollum, University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna Erwin Belakowitsch, singer, actor and cultural manager (MAS)



Brahmscompetition 2022

In principle, a competition in the categories piano, violin and cello is planned for 2022, whereby the programme will be oriented towards previous years; at most, there could be changes in the final.
However, we regret that we are unable to give a definite commitment to hold the competition at the present time, as the financing has not yet been secured – the municipality of Pörtschach has largely withdrawn from subsidising the competition.
In case of a positive turn of events, the registration portal will be open in April at the latest.


Prizewinners of the 28th Johannes Brahms Competition


The prizewinner’s concert will take place on Sunday, 9th 5pm at the Casineum Velden.


1st place ex aequo: Yibao Chen (China, piano accompaniment: Mariko Sakonju, Japan) and Ann-Kathrin Niemczyk (Germany)

3rd place: Corina Koller (Austria, piano accompaniment: Lukas Dorfegger, Austria) 


1st place: Kyungsik Shin (South Korea)

2nd place: Sarah Strohm (Schwitzerland)

3rd place: Yunji Jang (South Korea) 


1st place: Jan Sekaci (Romania)

2nd place: Carlos Vidal Ballester (Spain)

3rd place: Grace Sohn (Canada)

Chamber music

1st place: Trio Bohémo – Vojtek Jan, Pĕruška Matouš, Vocetková Kristina (all Czech Republic)   

2nd place: Duo Minerva – Obuchi Mayuko, Mitsui Shizuka (both Japan)

3rd place: Alecian Coline, Stasyk Ondine, Pio Jennifer, Simon Cyril (all Fance)

Best voice accompanist

Joseph Alejandro Avile Guerrero (Venezuela)

Special awards

Alexander York (USA) – Voice: Special prize for the extraordinary multilingualism of his program, donated by Dr. Barbara Moser
Tina Drole (Slovenia) – Voice: Special prize for the best interpretation of the contemporary song, donated by Interclassica

Jana Stojanovic (Serbia) – Viola: Special prize for the best interpretation of the contemporary compulsory piece, donated by the composer Dr. Johannes Kropfitsch

Jan Sekaci (Romania) – Cello: Special prize donated by Maestro Yuki Miyagi. Concert invitation to Prague, donated by Soon-Deog Kwon.

Trio Bohémo (Czech Republic) – Chamber music: Prize of the public, Concert offer of the Künstlerforum Wien (Tuesday 27.12.2022), Invitation to a concert in Überlingen